HHS Secretary names members for federal Health Information Technology Policy and Standards Committees

Health and Human Services Secretary Sylvia M. Burwell today named a new member to the Health Information Technology Policy Committee (HITPC) and renewed appointments for three members of the Health IT Standards Committee (HITSC). The committees are charged with recommending policies and technologies needed to implement a nationwide health information technology infrastructure and strategic plan.

The two federal advisory committees were created through the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). The committees provide the opportunity for stakeholders and the public to provide direct input to HHS.

Three members of the HITPC are appointed by the HHS Secretary, four members are appointed by Congress, 13 members are appointed by the Comptroller General of the United States and other federal members are appointed by the President.  Members of the HITSC are appointed by the HHS Secretary, with input from the HHS National Coordinator for Health IT.

New HITPC Member:

Continuing HITSC Members:

Learn more about ONC’s Federal Advisory Committees on HealthIT.gov.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *